Williams wins Payless Variety Store feature 35-lap race in record time

first_imgCONTINENTAL Cycle Club’s cyclist Geron Williams won the feature 35-lap race of the 6th Annual Payless Variety Store’s 11-race cycle programme in the National Park yesterday in a time of one hour, 12 minutes 35.42 seconds and in the process, erased the previous record for the race which was established just over one month ago by Kemuel Mosses whose time for the event was one hour, 13 minutes.Williams who is based in the United States of America and who is back home (Guyana) to recuperate from an injury he sustained while in the US where he represents Team Foundation as a professional cyclist – the only Guyanese professional – broke from the pack after the second lap and together with Paul Cho-Wee-Nam, Christopher Griffith, Paul DeNobrega, Curtis Dey, Jamal John and two others, established a sizeable lead.Throughout the remainder of the race, the leaders interchanged the lead which allowed Williams to win two of the eight prime prizes that were up for grabs, while Jamal John and Cho-Wee-Nam also won two primes each. DeNobrega and Griffith shared the other two.At the bell lap for the feature race yesterday, Cho-Wee-Nam and DeNobrega shared the lead with Dey, Silvio Inniss, John and Williams trailing, but with approximately 80 metres remaining for the finish, Williams `sailed’ to the outside and powered past Inniss and John to win the race.In other results, Curtis Dey won the 10-lap race for juveniles in a time of 26 minutes 37.59 seconds. Nigel Dugid and Briton John were second and third, respectively.The veterans’ over 50 years of age five-lap race was won by Linden Blackman who finished ahead of Kennard Lovell and Shameer Baksh, respectively.The five-lap race for veterans’ under 50 years of age was won by Ian `Dumb Boy’ Jackson. Second was Warren McKay, while Lennox Jackman placed third.Jonathan Ramsuchit won the three-lap race for boys and girls 12-14 years old.The five-lap race for mountain bikers was won by Nigel Jacobs, with Lakeram Singh second.Jared Barrington was the winner of the two-lap race for BMX boys 6-9 years old. Tesirka Mohabir was second and Arinna Roberts third.Joheme Henry won the BMX boys 9-12 years three-lap race ahead of Mark Lewis and John Niles, respectively.The programme was organised by cycling coach, Hassan Mohamed. Prior to making the presentation of prizes to the respective winners, Payless Variety Stores’ representative, Rajan Tiwari thanked the cyclists for participating, and Mohamed for organizing the activity for the sixth consecutive year.Tiwari said his company not only supports cycling, but other sports disciplines. He pledged Payless Variety Store’s continued support for the cycling programme.(Caption): Prize winners of the various categories of the 6th Annual Payless Variety Store-sponsored 11-race cycle programme yesterday strike a pose with Mohamed and Tiwari.last_img